Why we do what we do

Today was a toughie. A majority of the day was spent battling milk, noodles, toys, baby and toddler. It’s one of those days I get dizzy just wandering around my very small flat, trying to get things into order. I think I had to seriously talk myself out of just giving it all up and plopping down infront of the telly with a very cold green tea in my hands – which i did, at 8pm – twice.

Still, I know I have come rather far in this motherhood journey – much more to learn though! Just a couple of years ago, with a baby girl in my arms, I could barely fix myself a decent lunch. With her permanently latched on, I would searched google like a madwoman, trying to read up on everything concerning breastfeeding and babies. Then, i would look to my husband as my hero when he returned from work and my mortal enemy when he left for work the next morning. Today, I can manage breakfast, lunch and most things a toddler needs to thrive. I usually look like a mad crazy woman when my husband returns from work. You know how some articles say that wives need to doll up for their husbands? Pffffft. That’s lala land.

That being said, I very much love my day cum night cum 24/7 job. I love how there’s no boundaries between my job and my personal life and that I get to see my munchkins all the time. I wouldn’t have come this far without God and my faithful momsy friends who are there for me each time I think the going gets too tough. Seriously, if I save a dollar each time I whine, it would prolly be enough for a trip or something. It really must be some Godly intervention to arrange for like minded friends to walk through this journey with me – I’m looking at you A & J!

The first mumsy blog I read was one ranting about her difficulties in breastfeeding. That brought me so much comfort, to know that there are other mothers out there who are having a hard time with this breastfeeding and parenting gig. For many days after, I would religiously go through similar blogs, often laughing and finding much comfort in this one sided relationship (ha!).

With this blog, I hope to firstly document my journey with the children – to have something to read and look back on in fondness when the house grows quiet and the teenage angst and empty nest set in. In reading this, I hope that they will know how fun (fingers crossed) their childhood was and above all, how very much they are loved. All other reasons are secondary. Hahah. No really, in sharing our lives, I also hope to bring some form of comfort to mothers who need it, just like how it did for me.

So here goes! Meanwhile, I’m ending with some pictures of food because I’m really hungry now. And its 2.30am, so randomness is allowed.

DSC_0348

DSC_0355

Signature

Leave a comment